PDA

View Full Version : Why do I suck at Party?

WillMagic
09-22-2003, 12:09 PM
To introduce:

I've been playing poker for about three months now, and have developed into a very consistent winner at UltimateBet. I've probably cleared over $3000 in the past month at the site, playing mainly shorthanded 3/6 and 5/10 games.

At PartyPoker, I break even playing the same games.

And I know the players are worse at Party. They certainly are - even with the higher limits, at least half of the players have clearly never seen Sklansky's hand requirements. So with that, I should do better at party.

But I can't. No matter how hard I try at Party, I can't do better than break even. Meanwhile, I absolutely clean up at UB.

Is there something to the idea that I play better against better players?

There might be, in my case. Here are my thoughts:

1) I never limp. Never, under any circumstances. In shorthanded games, if I enter a pot, I enter it forcefully, hoping to get it down to heads up. I mean, if I'm in the blinds, i'll just call, but not anywhere else. Now, on UB this works very well. Rarely will I get more than two opponents in a pot, and I can usually take control and take it down if no one hits. On the other hand, at Party, I routinely am raising with two people behind me who have limped(probably a mistake without a very strong hand) - and even if I raise in first position, I get at least two and most likely three callers.

I'm not a particularly loose player - but I'm not particularly tight player, either. I'll raise with anything that deserves playing. At UB, this seems to keep everyone off balance, but at Party I feel like I'm the one spinning.

I think I need to start limping with suited connectors and small pairs - hands that I would normally throw away from an early position. Most pots would be unraised if it weren't for me.