PDA

View Full Version : Learning to play after you understand the cards

VeMan
09-16-2003, 04:14 PM
Ok, I've been playing Hold-em consistently for about 2 months almost every day. Some days are up, some are down. After doing a lot of poker study from various books, and attempting to put many of these concepts into practice I'm starting to notice some problems.

1) Playing the suggested cards means playing tight- If I wait until I get premium or playable marginal hands, I'm usually playing really tight, and of course I become really easy to read.
2) Loosening up my play, especially on small stakes tables where the action is already loose, often gets me into trouble throwing away 1 or 2 small bets and hoping for a good flop. This is what eats away at my bankroll and keeps me breaking even against whatever wins I happen to get.
3) Keeping track of ALL the complex intangibles like pot odds, implied odds, opponent characteristics, # of outs, reaading opponents hands, if a raise, call or fold is appropriate, and a myriad of other aspects I can't think of, is near to impossible in the few seconds I have to make a decision.
Now I figure there HAS to be a way to organize one's thoughts at the table during play- some kind of order of consideration- that better players use to deal with certain aspects of a hand before others without the process becoming completely chaotic.
I realize that it eventually becomes second-nature as the brain learns to assimilate lots of bits of info into a momentary strategy, but how does one approach learning this?
I'm doing the best I can as it is, but eventually it becomes too much to think about and my play gets affected. Suddenly I'm throwing in money preflop and hoping for the best, and I really don't want to play thay way.
Any help from you pros out there? Or anybody else?

VeMan

Nottom
09-16-2003, 05:40 PM