PDA

View Full Version : Reading Hands

rayrns
09-14-2003, 08:27 AM
Hi my name is Ray. I have been playing Holdem for 5 months and I can't read hands. There I said it and now everyone knows it. Oh maybe now and then, like I hold K-K and open raise from MP. Flop comes Q-T-3 rainbow and EP limper bets. I might remember he limped in and probably doesn't have a set so I will raise. But not really read hands. This was brought to light last night when a 2+2 player sat in a game I was playing.
Poker Stars .50/$1
I am EMP with 7c-7d
Folded to me. I open raise. Folded to 2+2(LMP) who re-raises. Folded back to me. I call. We are heads up.
Flop: Qh-5d-8h
Over cards on the flop. I decide to check to the raiser. Who then checks along.
Turn: (Qh-5d-8h)[Qs]
Now I don't believe he is holding a Q, so I bet out. 2+2 raises. I call. I have no idea where I am at or what he might have.
River: (Qh-5d-8h-Qs)[3c]
What do I do? I take the wuss way out and check. 2+2 checks along and I take down the pot. I still have no idea what he had.
I have observed tables at 100/200 - 30-60 but most of those games never go to showdown to get any "read". Most just go bet, raise, call. Check, bet, fold etc.
And at the limits I am playing, up and including $1/2, when they bet from UTG and then win with 6-4o to 2 pair, I am at a loss as to put them on that either.
So I have been playing the "board". My hand against possible better hands. I am ahead of the game but not where I should/wanna be.
How do I go about learning this part of the game? Also thanks for the 2+2 poster for messing with my mind in that hand. It made me do this post. And hopefully find out how to improve.
Thanks in advance to anyone/everyone who takes time to answer this post.

Al_Capone_Junior
09-14-2003, 08:57 AM