PDA

View Full Version : TPFAP : I'm not ready!

Depraved
09-14-2003, 12:13 AM
In Sklansky's TPFAP, he remarks in 'The System' section that AK (suited and offsuit), any pair, any suited ace, and any suited connector 45 and up comprises about 13% of the possible starting hands. He then states that if you don't know how that figure was computed, you're not ready for serious poker, and you deserve to lose.

1. I admit it - while being a decent mathematician, I am fairly weak in probability, and cannot perform this calculation. Could someone provide a proof of the statement?

2. I am not ready for the world series of poker main event, but I wonder how many people who enter can actually perform this calculation. I doubt it's very high. I suspect that less than 50% of consistent tournament winners can perform the calculation. Am I way off?

Bozeman
09-14-2003, 02:32 AM
1) It is not a hard calculation, just a counting problem:
how many AK combos are there?
how many ranks of pairs? (13) How many of each? (6)
how many suited aces?
how many suited connector 45 through qk? (9*4)
how many hands are possible? (52*51/2)

2) my guesses: 50% at WSOP, 80% of consistent winners (unless you mean do it exactly in your head)

Ed Miller
09-14-2003, 07:09 AM
This is a counting problem. You count the number of hands in the set of hands suggested by Sklansky, you count the number of hands possible, and then you divide.

I couldn't imagine someone possessing the "intellectual horsepower" (to borrow Microsoft's nauseating term to use in my nauseating post) to beat poker lacking the ability to perform this calculation.

David Sklansky
09-14-2003, 01:20 PM
Until recently, less than 10% of good players could do this. Since I've written about it a lot, its probably up to 25%. I sometimes write things that are a bit over the top just to keep from getting bored. That doesn't mean they aren't true though.

slider77
09-14-2003, 04:01 PM
I get this:

AK - 16
Pairs - 78
AXs - 48
Connectors - 32