PDA

View Full Version : A Long Story and a Thank You (Long of course)

OrangeHeat
09-11-2003, 02:09 PM
So my story starts four years ago. I had been playing poker for three or four years prior when I decided to play above my bankroll.

I started playing in a pool hall where I worked, had read the books, played religously, and had put myself through college on private games and occasional trips to CT and LV. To make a long story short I got brave/stupid and jumped into a 30/60 game at the Bellagio with a 100 BB bankroll. As you can guess I ran through the 100BB rather easily. With the last few BB's going to four of a kind over my aces full /images/graemlins/smile.gif

Although I knew it was my own stupidity that had put me down to the felt - I decided to swear off poker and concentrate on using my newly acquired engineering degree. I had loved the game from the start, but had suddenly developed a distinct hate for the feeling in my stomach when the last few chips were swiped away.

Ok - Fast forward four years to this Winter. I had acquired a good job, a great wife, house, two kids, dog, etc.. I had completely forgotten the crazy all night games, the challenge of the game, and my old love for it. I had also started to forget my amazing crash at the end.

So my wife and I spring for cable and lo and behold they have poker on the travel channel! As we were watching I tell my wife about the good ole' days and glanced at the full shelf of reading material that had been collecting dust since we moved in.

Being the great wife she is - she says I should play again if I enjoy it. I thought for awhile and remebered the crash at the end and made a promise to myself that if I was going to play poker I was going to do it right - after all you can't take risks when your supporting a family!