PDA

View Full Version : Is this weak/tight?

TJD
09-07-2003, 06:18 PM
Hi all, had a hand tonight that I feel sure I made a complete pigs ear of. Your comments would be very much appreciated. I am a relative beginner and need all the help I can get. Please feel free to be honest, I will not be insulted.

I have AQo in UTG+1 $1/$2 game

UTG folds, I raise, MP, LP, SB and BB all come along.

Flop AJJ rainbow.

SB bets; BB calls.

I have no idea what to do! I consider raising but with a bet and a call into a PFR with a rainbow but with a pair showing, I am not sure.

I call!!!! ugh! I am not happy about this. I know nothing about the players.

Turn and river are blanks and SB bets each time

We lose MP on flop and LP on turn.

The showdown is SB, BB and me

What should I do on flop, turn, river please?

I asked a week ago for a definition of weak/tight since I do not understand what it means but did not get any "definitions".

Is this an example of it?

Could anyone attempt a definition?

Thanks for your time.

Trevor

Tosh
09-07-2003, 06:24 PM
I believe weak tight is folding a hand as soon as you get a bit of resistance or if you have a pair and an overcard flops.

I think this is an example of passive play more than weak tight play. I think you should raise the flop or turn. He could be trying to throw you off of KK or QQ.

ccwhoelse?
09-07-2003, 06:36 PM
weak-tight is not playing aggressively when you have something that very well could be the best hand, but not the obvious nuts. like making a flush with 78s and not raising the hell out of it.

[ QUOTE ]
I consider raising but with a bet and a call into a PFR with a rainbow but with a pair showing, I am not sure.

[/ QUOTE ]

i don't know where your playing, but i think at that limit players will usually not realize, consider or care about the action before the flop.