PDA

View Full Version : Hand eval: am I weak-tight?

Cosimo
09-05-2003, 02:32 AM
First, some background. I had read a bit and played a bit of poker (ten hours in cardrooms, maybe 100 hours of kitchen poker) before June of this year, when I started playing earnestly. Since then I have logged about 20,000 hands online and 200 face-to-face. I'm still reading and rereading all the good books, but I don't know what's sinking in. After all of those hands, I am barely up at the two limits I have played most -- 25c-50c and 50c-$1. After running up to around +200BB at 25c-50c and +100BB at 50c-1, I started on a long slide down, which only recently reversed. I'm having trouble thinking that my play is all to blame. I know my opponents are fish; it might be UB, but the micro-limits aren't as tight as my reading suggests that middle-limit B&M play is. I'm definitely far tighter (preflop and post) than my average opponent.

Here's a recent hand:
* K/images/graemlins/diamond.gifQ/images/graemlins/club.gif on the button. After one MP limper, LP raises. I call, as does the SB and MP. Four see the flop of Q/images/graemlins/spade.gif8/images/graemlins/club.gif4/images/graemlins/club.gif. LP bets out, I just call, and the two behind me call. Turn comes J/images/graemlins/club.gif. MP now bets out (someone by the name of 'cubswin'); I fold.

After looking back at this hand, I think I played it a bit weakly, but I'm not sure what I should have done or where I erred. What should I be rereading? How much will plays like this affect my win-rate, especially at online micro-limits?