PDA

View Full Version : Online Players' Poker Tells

FireMantis
09-02-2003, 07:31 PM
Hello, I'm new to this forum and new to hold 'em in general. I've been learning how to play super loose games by lurking in the penny tables at UB's site. I am no expert, but I have noticed some things that you can pick up on in an online game that might give you information on what kinds of hands to put the other players on.

1. Betting
I'm not talking about betting patterns per se, but even in loose games reraises are a good indication that they have something. This should be fairly remedial but in the penny games people either don't get it or don't care. Of course, when a check/call on the turn becomes a raise on the river when the third diamond comes up, they usually have hit their flush draw. Anyways, since there are usually 6-9 people in these pots, when a check/call becomes a raise when a scary card comes up, it seems to usually mean trouble.

2. Pausing
In low limits online play, most players' moves aren't as preprogrammed as they are for veterans. They pause to make tough decisions. Usually after a pause, they will fold. If they raise after a pause and aren't compulsive bluffers, they were probably worried about revealing a strong hand by raising or betting out. Sometimes, of course, it is just because they are playing multiple games or distracted.

3. Chatting
Sometimes players will tell you what they have in these loosey-goosey games. They rarely lie about it too. They will also say things like "I'm on tilt" and they are. It is always a good idea to keep chat on and watch the little window to look for a clue that pops up every now an then.

4. Autochecking/Autoraising