PDA

View Full Version : 2 hands did I wimp out?

rjc199
08-27-2003, 08:08 PM
Party 0.5/1 I'm new at this table, but most eveyrbody is loose-passive. 2 semi-maniacs who raise with FaceXo randomly.

Hand 1:

I get [Q /images/graemlins/club.gif T /images/graemlins/club.gif ] in LP. 1 limper to me. I limp. Button limps, sb folds, BB checks.

Flop [ 5 /images/graemlins/club.gif, T /images/graemlins/spade.gif, K /images/graemlins/club.gif ]

I have 2nd pair and a flush draw to 2nd nuts. I bet out and 1 caller.

Turn [ A /images/graemlins/diamond.gif ]

It is checked to me and I decide to take a free card. I'm not sure whether this is the right play or not. I think I should have bet. Obviously this A didn't help him, but it did give me a bellybuster draw to the nuts. Also I have position and it looks scary to him. I think a semi-bluff bet would be the +ev move here.

River [ 6 /images/graemlins/club.gif ]

He checks to me and I bet. I thought since I showed weakness on the turn that he might call my bet thinking I was bluffing, but really if I was on the flush draw this is the exact move I would make. He folded. I think I should have bet the turn and he would have called and also probably called the river too.

Hand 2:

This is a weird hand.

I get J4o in the BB. There are 3 limpers to me and I check.

FLop [ 7, 3, J ] 2 diamonds. I don't have a diamond.

sb acts first and bets. For some unknown reason I raise him (I didn't think he had top pair, but my kicker is real bad). One cold caller and sb reraises me. Again for some unknown reason I call?

Turn [ 4 /images/graemlins/spade.gif]

Was it some sort of ESP that I stayed to see this? Anyway he bets into me, I raise, he 3-bets, I cap? I got carried away. He is behaving like he has a set. I decide to check-call the rest of the way.

River [ A /images/graemlins/diamond.gif ]