PDA

View Full Version : Bad move in Home Tourney?

Hellrazor
08-22-2003, 09:09 AM
Ok here's what happened last night.. can you guys tell me if I played it incorrectly?
(I'm a moderate level newbie...)

It's a $40 buy-in ten person tournament style poker game. (one winner takes all cash minus the pizza and beer)
I'm second in chips with $134 chips going into the hand - I'm dealer. BB is chip leader with approx $150

5 Player left
Blinds are 5-10 at this point.

I'm dealt a A /images/graemlins/spade.gif 2 /images/graemlins/spade.gif

UTG folds, UTG+1 limps, I limp (bad call?), SB calls, BB checks.

Flop: A /images/graemlins/club.gif Q /images/graemlins/spade.gif 2 /images/graemlins/heart.gif
(Yeah baby)

SB checks, BB bets out 10, fold to me, I raise all in. (again bad move?)
SB folds. BB calls. At this point we flip - I correctly had him at a pair of queens with no kicker.
He shows Q /images/graemlins/diamond.gif 5 /images/graemlins/heart.gif.

Turn card - 2 /images/graemlins/club.gif
I'm psyched here.. gonna double up and move into a big chip lead. (I won the last tournament with these players - my first ever tourney about 2 weeks ago)

River - Q /images/graemlins/club.gif

He wins Q's over 2's.

Where did I go wrong - or how many times did I go wrong??

Rip me apart please - at least if I feel I played it wrong I'll feel like I deserved to lose.....

CrackerZack
08-22-2003, 09:48 AM
He called your all-in with Q5 on a AQ2 flop? He called 124 more of his 140 stack? WTF?

Nottom
08-22-2003, 11:36 AM
Your opponent had to go runner runner to beat you and you think you made the mistake. Fine play, bad luck.

Bozeman
08-22-2003, 01:23 PM
Preflop you shouldn't be limping with blinds this big since you need to flop 2 pair or better to be confident you are ahead. After the flop, you need to get it all in, and your opp. called as a 8.8:1 underdog. (how many chips are there at the table? 500?)

Craig

baggins
08-22-2003, 04:37 PM