PDA

View Full Version : B & M poker etiquette

bushky
08-18-2003, 07:35 PM
Hi y'all,

I am just starting out in poker, playing online exclusively. I have noticed many players getting upset/spewing profanities after a (bad) beat.

I have also read some of these posts about las vegas pro's berating players/dealers etc.

So... How much abuse do I have to listen to? Both toward myself and toward other players/dealers? Am I allowed to fight fire with fire? Do I get to start up with antagonistic remarks? Does the pit boss or the dealer have the responsibility of taking care of this?

The reason I am asking is that I plan on being in Vegas in Nov and would hate to think I would need to leave because a jerk went amok.

Thanks in advance.

Bushky

PS Does anyone else see this as a huge landmine toward poker becoming the next big thing (Sort of like backgammon in the 80's?

Abagadro
08-18-2003, 09:06 PM
I haven't found THAT much bad behavior at LL in Vegas. Occaisionally you will get a loudmouth or someone who berates players on their play. More often you will just get drunk idiots. I find most rooms/dealers are good at squashing that kind of thing down. I refuse to engage in tit-for-tat bahavior or do any berating of my own. It's counterproductive.

If you have a problem mention it to the dealer, if the dealer can't/won't do anything, don't make a big deal, just go quietly talk to the floor. If the floor won't do anything, leave. There are plenty of rooms.

bushky
08-18-2003, 09:34 PM
Thanks Ab,

One of the reasons I was wondering was I have been reading pokerworks diary by Linda and there seems to be quite a bit of behaviour I would not really want to be a part of. Then Howard Lederer's journal of his 4 days at WSOP mentioned a feud that went on for a solid hour where the director had to be called and still couldn't get the players to behave.