PDA

View Full Version : 55 vs AQs on the end?

fleavis
08-17-2003, 06:18 PM
Hey guys wassup... i was just wondering if u could tell me how this tournament play looks.

it was a tournament of 16, and it was down to the last two. me with a short stack of 40T and he had like 80T...

i got dealt 55,
i bet, he reraised, i reraised him, putting him on AK AQ or something, he reraised me all-in and i called. He had AQs.

was it a good call?

i ended up losing the tournament...

Bokonon
08-18-2003, 01:13 AM
I'm just an ignorant newbie (or "noob", as the young kids like to say), but it seems to me that unless you thought you were clearly a better player than this guy with the bigger stack, you had to take advantage of the ~52% chance to double up. Especially if you already had some money in the pot.

If you knew you were a better player, then you could fold, grind it out with him, and have a better chance to end up on top. But if you don't think you were . . . well, a 50-50 shot to double up when you're down like that seems like a good call.

Al_Capone_Junior
08-18-2003, 02:40 PM
Heads up short stacked you usually should go for it with a pair. You were actually a slight favorite, but got unlucky.

al

punkass
08-18-2003, 03:50 PM
A tournament of 16, and there's T120 on the table. Everyone started the tournament with T7.5?

Disregarding that, I agree that if you are a better player than him, you can fold it, and look for a better hand.

Copernicus
08-18-2003, 04:32 PM
I assumed they were 40,000 and 80,000, but youre right it does look funny!

I dont consider half of the other guy being a "small stack". Even at 1/3, doubling through ties you with him. Smaller than that I adjust my strategy to "small stack" play.