PDA

View Full Version : seven stud split/declare home game with odd structure/ante

scrub
08-16-2003, 10:04 PM
Hi all. I started playing in a home game at school this year with a structure that I just couldn't figure out how to beat.

The game was played as a spread limit .50-5 on every round but the river, which was .50-10. There was an ante of .50 per player, and the game was usually at least 7 handed. Dealer's choice, but most players dealt split stud/declare. Those trying to scoop lost both ends if they got beat on one end, but could quarter on a tie.

Three of the players were very intuitive players who played very well on later streets, but did not select their starting hands very well and had very loose raising standards. One was tight weak, and the other players were dead money.

The strategy of the wild players seemed to be to get money in on third street with any two good low cards hidden, or any two good low cards with some sort of half-assed additional coordination. The 3-4 dollars in the pot on antes meant that most players called a small raise on third street with anything. Reraising with a premium hand seemed to give up too much information without doing much to thin the field on a strong high hand. In any case, the texture of the game frequently produced pots on the order of 20-30 dollars on third street, giving a lot of hands odds to chase to the river.

Pots were rarely jammed on the later streets until the river. The player fancying themselves to be in the lead would make futile bets for 1/6 of the pot at best, and get called around. Sometimes one of the intuitive, loose players would take over the action on the hand during the earlier streets, and that made it even harder to know where I stood, as their bets were well thought out and frequently deceptive. The river was often jammed to the 40 dollar limit.