PDA

View Full Version : Good result....bad play

Zetack
08-12-2003, 03:25 PM
Hey, I just made my very first final table! For those of you much more experienced than me for whom that first happened a looong time ago let me refresh your recollection---it feels GREAT!!!!

Ok, ok, so it was a freeroll tourney (with a thousand entrants!) and all it gets me is an entry into another tourney with a teeny tiny little payout--but hey I'm new to this and its very exciting for me.

Anyway, I did make what I think was a very strategically boneheaded play. Nine players make the next tourney so ninth is as good as first and tenth is as lousy as 1000th. We're down to the final two tables, 15-16 players left (sorry I don't remember the particulars exactly right...). I have 80 something thousand in chips. The table leader has a bit over 100k a couple of spots to my left. So basically if I don't play around too much I'm guaranteed to make the final table and the prize.

So I draw A-Q of hearts. Blinds were (I think) 1500/3000 with 150 antes. A couple of limpers and I bet about 12k (might have been 15k). If I pick up the blinds, the limpers and the antes right here I'm happy but I can get away from this bet if somebody comes back at me or the flop misses me. The big stack in the BB calls and everybody else folds.

The flop comes all undercards but--2 hearts! I fire thirty thousand into pot. And then....the big stack pushes all in. ooof. So regardless of whether my bets to this point were good or not, here's where it really gets boneheaded. If I fold here I still have 40k and I still figure to make the final table and the only prize that matters. I know that almost regardless of what he has the strategic thing to do here is fold. I know that, I know that, I know that. So what do I do? I call of course. (lol)