PDA

View Full Version : poker or chess

ccwhoelse?
07-30-2003, 11:36 PM
what do you think is a more mentally challenging game. if not all types of poker, maybe one type like hold'em and how it stacks up against chess. even tho that games are of two different natures.

Dynasty
07-31-2003, 11:17 AM
Chess and I don't think it's close.

David Steele
07-31-2003, 11:33 AM

Dr Wogga
07-31-2003, 11:57 AM
....by a landslide

nicky g
07-31-2003, 12:06 PM
Also agree. I'm just getting into chess, I'm not sure if I have the patience (or intelligence) for it, though on the other hand I'd imagine it's a lot less hard on the nerves than poker. Poker will give me an ulcer one of these days; love it though I do, I find it incredibly stressful at times. Perhaps I should read the Zen and Poker book.
What other games do people here play? My wife bought me a backgammon set for Christmas, it's a great game. A friend is also trying to get me into go though we've still not sat down to play. I also am vaguely tempted to learn bridge though I don't like the partnership aspect of it. Which game to people think has more to it, poker or backgammon?

Dynasty
07-31-2003, 01:27 PM
[ QUOTE ]
...on the other hand I'd imagine it's a lot less hard on the nerves than poker.

[/ QUOTE ]

I guess you haven't been in time pressure during an important tournament chess game.

Chess doesn't require intelligence. That's a myth. While at the Boylston Chess Club in Boston, I played with a wide range of people from lawyers to homeless people. Their intelligence varied greatly but they were at approximately the same skill level.

David Steele
07-31-2003, 01:49 PM
Tournament chess can be very stressful, casual fast chess is pretty relaxing and you don't have to be as patient as in poker since you get to play every other move.