PDA

View Full Version : Question/Opinions on Poker Books

XPac
07-29-2003, 12:56 PM
I've been playing poker off and on for about 20 years, basically ever since I was about 8 (grandpa taught me). Now I've only played low limit home games (draw, stud, HE) and low limit online, and I usually finish ahead (I'm definitely a beginner though, as I've always played more by feel, not by calculating pot odds). On the other hand, I've considered myself an "advantage" player at blackjack for about 5 years now, I've studied the odds/probabilities, ran simulations, card counting, etc and done pretty well at the tables. Bottom line, I understand math, statistics, and probabilities mostly from my formal education, and I've learned how probabilities relate to cards from blackjack. So here's my question: I currently have TOP and HFAP, and I'm understanding them pretty well. I also ordered Brunson's Super System just because it's considered a classic poker book. I was thinking of picking up Jone's book Winning Low Limit HE because it has been recommended so highly on this site and others for beginners, however several of the reviews say it strictly for people learning the game, new to the concepts of poker, etc. I'm trying to figure out from those of you who have it, whether you think I would stand to benefit from this book already having a basic background in poker?

Louie Landale
07-29-2003, 01:26 PM
Jones is pretty good reading and gives insight at beating low-limit games (for biginners or otherwise). I don't think it makes for good reference material, for example how to play in a particular situation.

If you are a read-and-digest-and-consider sort of person, get it. If you are a mindlessly-apply-religiously-what-you-read person, I'd stick with 2+2.