PDA

View Full Version : No Limit hand — looking for advice

antidan444
07-18-2003, 04:14 PM
I just started playing hold’em poker in April (well, besides that no fold’em family table kind, but that doesn’t really count) after getting hooked on the WPT. A few days ago I signed up at Ultimate Bet for the play money tables. I know they’re not the truest poker test, but as a sportswriter for a small-town paper who’s getting married in September, you can imagine I don’t have a whole lot of money to gamble with. I hope that changes soon, heh.

Anyway, playing no-limit I turned 1,000 in 50,000 in about six hours (and I thought I knew what “loose” meant!) and moved up to a 100-200 table with about five players who played reasonably well enough and the rest who played better than the newbies, but not by much.

After about 45 minutes at the new table, I’m in the big blind and I get KQ hearts. Everybody at the table calls, leaving it on me. Not sure what the correct play is here, but I figured my hand wouldn’t hold up against 10 people, so I bet the pot (2,200) to try to get it down to two or three. Three callers, and we all see a flop of 4-7-8 rainbow, one heart.

Since I had led out before the flop, I decided to show strength again and bet 5,000 (half the pot size). The next two players fold and it’s down to me and a guy who plays very loose before the flop but tightens up after it. He thinks for about 15 seconds, then raises to 10,000. This raise seemed very suspicious to me, I thought it was too small and that it was probably a scare tactic to get me to lay it down. He had about 15,000 more than me (I started with about 51,500).

I went all-in, thinking even if he had top pair or a straight draw, it’d be very difficult for him to call the bet. If he has trips, two pair or wired aces, kings or queens, I’m dead on a misread, but anything else and it’s tough for him. And if he does call with only a pair of sevens, I have some outs. I didn’t expect a call.