PDA

View Full Version : lexus is250 vs hoopty

THATWACOKID
12-14-2005, 12:37 AM
ok so i'm a 19 year old student and i've made some money playing poker in the past year. i want to buy an is250 fully loaded which would be about 40k-44k. when i told my dad that i want a lexus he flipped the [censored] out. he goes on about how bad of an investment it is compared to me buying a 20k car. he assumes it will be a 30k lexus and says that if i take the 10k i would be 'saving' and put that in a savings account i would have 300k 30 years down the road.

i will obviously lose a little bit more money with the lexus, but how approximately how much more would i lose considering the following:

-higher insurance
-resale value (not sure if the fully loaded hurts/helps)
-other factors i'm not aware of that will effect this

Claunchy
12-14-2005, 12:44 AM
Cars are a massive waste of money. Of course it would be a lot smarter to buy a cheaper car that will work just as well and save or invest the rest of the money.

That said, the IS 250 is a badass car, so get it.

nothumb
12-14-2005, 12:48 AM
Your dad is right. You can get a sweet car for less than 40k that will still pull some tail, and invest the rest.

NT

12-14-2005, 12:49 AM
I was gonna say something, and then I went and looked at the IS 250.

Buy it. [censored] your dad.

Voltron87
12-14-2005, 12:49 AM
for a 19 yr old to buy a full lexus with poker money, it is very, very expensive and pretty dumb for the vast majority of people. instead of ivesting the money you will put it in an asset which will depreciate and cost a lot of $$$ to maintain, through insurance and repairs (even if you get a better made car like a lexus compared to some of the more unreliable ones, its still a lot of dough)

Tron
12-14-2005, 12:52 AM
Uh, $15,000 != Hoopty

tolbiny
12-14-2005, 12:57 AM