PDA

View Full Version : college

12-13-2005, 11:41 PM
Hey guys. This is my first post(not reply) in OOT. So, I was looking for some advice, and for a laugh. So, I am a freshman at carnegie mellon, my declared major is math, but I had intended to double or switch into computer science. I have in the past seen beauty in programming, but I saw some ugly [censored] over thanksgiving break when I had to work through tons and tons of code to ultimately give up on fixing a problem that couldnt be identified. This made me hate, for the moment, computer science. My love of math is growing, since I stopped playing online poker because I suck at it, but own live. I have also been getting more sleep. I am now thinking about making my second major physics, instead of comp sci, because I like it, and my pops says physics is about to go through a revolution that math went through a while ago. I'm staying in school instead of going off to a monastery or some [censored] because I'm good at math, but otherwise, I lack deep value of anything, including people, money, school, life, etc.

so, what say ye?

istewart
12-13-2005, 11:46 PM
Stopped reading here:

[ QUOTE ]
since I stopped playing online poker because I suck at it, but own live.

[/ QUOTE ]

12-13-2005, 11:47 PM
ADD is a beatch. both in reading posts, and me staying focused at poker online.

aaronbeen
12-13-2005, 11:48 PM
If you are interested in logic and abstract math do comp sci. If you are interested in calculus do physics.

12-13-2005, 11:49 PM
I am good at, but sick of calc. I like logic and game theory. I love number theory and theoretical math.

JihadOnTheRiver
If you double in Math and Physics at CM, you're face will explode.

DiamondDave
Statistics? Operations research?

12-13-2005, 11:51 PM
did you go to cmu?

benza13
12-13-2005, 11:52 PM
Sorry, the correct answer is the last option, but should read Taco Bell instead of Burger King, so that you can give OOT the hookup on TB.

InchoateHand
12-13-2005, 11:53 PM