PDA

View Full Version : A Turn Check (1 of 3)

Clarkmeister
07-18-2003, 03:54 AM
Juicy Mirage 10-20. 4 limpers to The Live One on the button who raises, I call in the SB with As3s, BB and the rest call.

Flop: Ks Ts 3c. I bet, Reasonable BB raises, all fold to me, I 3-bet, he 4-bets, I call.

Turn: 2s. I check.

Bob S.
07-18-2003, 04:32 AM
It's been a while since I've been here and a while since I just started playing again (too busy) so here are my thoughts. I think I would have just led out on the turn, I assume you were playing for the check raise but if he is the reasonable player you say he is I think the turn checkraise may wake him up a bit to what you are holding. Also he may raise you again on the turn if he has a strong holding (which he appears to have) and he feels you are testing him out when the 3rd spade hit. Lastly, should he be holding something like a set of tens he may even decide to take a free turn card after you check (just out of curiousity, I'm guessing he had trip tens or JsQs).

Bob S.

Dante
07-18-2003, 04:39 AM
What are your intentions with the check? (check-raise I'd assume?). ...and then the river?

Instinct
07-18-2003, 04:39 AM
I'd bet turn. He might raise you with a set or smaller flush. After 3 betting flop I doubt he would fold.
If you check raise turn he may lay down a strong ace and you lose money.
If he will bet turn and river regardless then I guess you could go for a CR on river, but I personally prefer to get the chips in the middle usually.

elysium
07-18-2003, 06:09 AM
hi clark
just terrible. i can't believe that this is a meister hand. firstly, you should of course check the flop for the reasons exhibited. you have to know that clark. from the SB check the dand thing to gain position for crying out loud.