PDA

View Full Version : Limit tourney advice please

Whitey
07-17-2003, 01:57 PM
I recently started playing in some small entry(upto $20)limitHL tourneys (I normally only play PL or NL)with a reasonable degree of success(a couple of placings in the money,generally finishing just out of the money).
Also a couple of the $12 satelites to the WCOOP $500 comp where I have just finished outside the qualifying /forums/images/icons/frown.gif .

My general play is tight and aggressive,in the early stages I will open raise with AQ or better,or limp in with Ax or small to medium pairs to try to flop a big hand or muck.

Later on I will open-raise with suited face cards such as KQs upwards if I'm the first to open or if faced with a raise,reraise with AK/pair of 8s or better.
I will also be looking to steal the blinds with any 2 cards in late position.

What I am finding is if I get a caller when either stealing or opening with non pairs I will go on to represent strength on the flop and get called down,so if I miss my flop I'm having to slow down on the turn and muck if my opponent shows strength.

This is tending to erode my stack late on and leave me having to play weaker hands all-in,suck as Ax.

Should I be more patient when opening? Should I be giving up on my steals as soon as I'm called(this seems a weak play and leaves me open to any bet on the flop making me me muck regardless of what my opponent has)

Any help would be greatly appreciated /forums/images/icons/smile.gif /forums/images/icons/smile.gif

sam h
07-17-2003, 03:49 PM
Whitey,

You really seem to be doing a crappy job of hitting the flop in the later stages. You'll never win any tournaments unless you plug this leak. /forums/images/icons/tongue.gif