PDA

View Full Version : One Table NL Tourneys at Party

heyrocker
07-13-2003, 11:40 AM
Hello all,

I am a poker hobbyist who has come in and out of the game at various times over the years as interest and finances have ebbed and flowed. I am well versed in the basics, but have never put forth the cash or effort to really get my chops down. Living in Chicago doesn't help that much.

Recently I bought in at PartyPoker. This is the third time I have bought in to an online site, twice at Paradise and both times I lost my initial buyin ($200 each time) playing low limit ring games. At Party I decided I would give the NL one table tourneys a try. I have now played five ($10/$1), and my results are 3rd, 1st, 2nd, 1st, 3rd. I guess I must be doing something right. I have never done any reading on NL (although I have read, but not heavily studied, all the other major published work on Hold'Em.) About my only experience with it is watching WPT. After my first tourney my instincts told me that the proper way to play this was to play tight early and let the loose canons take care of themselves, then as the table gets down to say 5, start making plays and becoming more agressive. At Party you pretty much have to do this to overcome the blinds anyways. Reading some posts here seems to confirm this as the way to go, and its nice to see my instincts were correct.

What all this boils down to is I'm trying to determine if I've just gotten lucky. What have other people's experience been at tournaments on Party at this level? Do the players get significantly better at the higher levels? I am also intrigued by the Pokerstars tourneys with the less oppressive blind structure and double table tourneys. How does that play differently?

Thanks all for any comments.

FeliciaLee
07-13-2003, 01:10 PM
After experimenting with a few sites, different games, different buy-in's, I have found a "home" at Stars NLHE sit-n-go's.