PDA

View Full Version : Advice on where to play. (a little long)

12-07-2005, 05:13 PM
I tried searching for this but couldn't find much on what I was looking for.

I was wondering how you guys got to mid stakes holdem? I've been playing small stakes(Party) for a little while and posting some on that forum. The basic advice there is start at a low limit like 2/4. Play 10-20k hands and if you're beating the game, move up to 3/6 and repeat. Is this how most of you worked your way up or did you just jump in and see how you did?

I'll tell you my story and maybe some people can give me advice on what to do. Or if it's too much to read, maybe just comment on how you made it where you're playing today.

I was a winning SSNL player for a while before I moved to limit. I just did it for a change because NL was boring me. I've played a lot of limit in the past, so I didn't have a big learning curve. I started playing 3/6 and I noticed there seemed to be a lot more bad players in limit. I decided to stick with it and I did decent while making the full adjustment and relearning some old concepts I had forgotten.

3 days ago I decided to give 5/10 a shot because I was getting pretty stagnant at 3/6, and it just felt like a good idea. I just played one table and focused on all the players, trying to isolate the weaker ones. I hit a good run and was playing good, so I went up $400 that night.