PDA

View Full Version : defending against aggression in nolimit tournaments

Lottery Larry
07-11-2003, 05:25 PM
i am pretty new to nolimit holdem, having been introduced in a home game via low buy-in tournaments. i am having a problem with how to deal with aggression when the bets are large and i can get knocked out for a bad decision- or just a "wrong results" one. i would appreciate any help.

i get the impression that players are going after me because i am playing too cautiously and tight. also i do not know what hands are "good" nolimit hands to stand fast with so i get a lot of money stolen.

in "Holdem for Advanced Players-Milleneum Edition" there is a section on short-handed play which lists hands that you should defend with in limit games- Ax, pairs, two cards 9 and higher, Kx suited. while that seems reasonable for a limit game it feels very dangerous for a nolimit one.

a recent tournament disaster made very clear that i need a lot of help. three hands stood out in this two-table tournament.

first- with Ace high i called down someone who was pushing a lot of chips at me on every street. i was riding on the wings of a two-flush which didn't get there, but felt he was making a play. i was right and took down the pot.

second- 99 on a board of 876K and another player making large raises made me fold on the turn- supposedly he was bluffing. i assume i should have gone all in on the outside-straight flop?

third- i horribly played a TT against an aggressive large stack, calling a large reraise of my small raise for most of my chips at the final table, when another loose player who i had raised was all-in.
I went all in on the flop for my remaining chips with a mixed board, only to see the raiser show me QQ- which i should have known about, i think.

so, as a starting point, what kinds of hands should i be playing against agressive opponents in nolimit tournaments?

yours, LL

cferejohn
07-11-2003, 05:44 PM