PDA

View Full Version : Betting the pot

12-05-2005, 04:08 PM
I'm a newb to PL games, and am only playing at $25 and $50 buyins.

I've read the little I can find online about Omaha High, and I saw the advice that I should always bet the pot if I bet at all.

Is this correct?

I've noticed that a pot sized bet often gets no callers.

Sometimes this is good (when there are possible draws on the flop), but sometimes it is not (if you hold the nuts or near nuts on the River).

Do you always bet the pot, or do you vary bet sizes.

If so, what is your criteria?

Also, is it correct to bet a flush or straight draw in Omaha the way I often do in Holdem?

Thanks

joewatch
12-05-2005, 04:34 PM
There are plenty of people who only bet the pot, but varying your bet size according to the situation is probably more profitable. Of course, knowing how much to bet is the hard part. The best information on this complicated topic is Rolf Slotboom's article "The amount of the bet in pot-limit Omaha".

12-05-2005, 04:47 PM
[ QUOTE ]
The best information on this complicated topic is Rolf Slotboom's article "The amount of the bet in pot-limit Omaha".

[/ QUOTE ]

Do you (or anyone) still have access to this article? It's not linked on Rolf's homepage and the original publisher no longer exists (according to Rolf's webpage).

Phishy McFish
12-05-2005, 06:50 PM
I would love a link as well.

As to OP....personally I think there are MANY benifits to NOT always potting it. I think both of my favorites are related to a just large enough bet on the riv to LOOK like you want a call.