PDA

View Full Version : Hand Critique

JDErickson
07-10-2003, 01:01 PM
PP $1/$2 game. Tight passive game except for one player. My opponent in this hand. 3 to 4 see the flop normally.

Im dealt 8d 8c in the Cutoff seat. Folded around to the player on my right (loose river shark) who calls, I raise. SB and BB call. Shark calls. 4 to the Flop

Flop - 8s Qd Qs

SB bets, BB calls, shark calls, I raise, SB ans BB fold, shark raise, I cap, he calls. Headsup on the Turn

Turn 6d

shark bets, I raise, shark raises, I cap, shark calls

River - 6h

shark bets, I raise, shark calls

I'm fairly new to hold'em so be gentle.

Thanx
Jim

Joe Tall
07-10-2003, 01:21 PM
I like the way you played the hand until the river. I'm sure you lost to a higher full house Qs-full with this double paired board.

Unless he's some over aggressive with a busted spade draw.

Lost Wages
07-10-2003, 01:47 PM
PP $1/$2 game. Tight passive...

Well, you made one mistake prepreflop /forums/images/icons/smile.gif . Too many loose-passive 1/2 games on party to be playing in a tight one.

I like the preflop raise. Flop and turn look fine. On the river your hand just went way down in value, just call.

Lost Wages

lil'
07-10-2003, 02:20 PM
Man, that river card is death. He bet into you because he has a Q and figures he has a tie at worst. Just call.

Dynasty
07-10-2003, 02:33 PM
You should just call on the river and hope he has a hand like As6s for a smaller full house.

dirty_dan
07-10-2003, 02:39 PM
It's been capped between you two on the flop and turn. He obviously likes his hand, more than likely he's got a Q. He didn't open raise preflop so QQ, AQ, KQ and probably QJ are out. He initally just called on the flop and 3 bet after the blinds folded. He might have been slowplaying his nut boat with Q8s, which makes a little sense as with another Qx he should be wary of kicker problems. On the river you can no longer be in the lead. But the pot is huge and you can't fold. Just call his bet.