PDA

View Full Version : Call allin on the bubble with junk?

kamrann
12-02-2005, 07:25 PM
Slightly bizarre one here, maybe I've gone a bit mad. Anyway, bubble of a Mini Step 3 (top 2 $165, 3rd $55).

Party Poker No-Limit Hold'em Tourney, Big Blind is t600 (3 handed) FTR converter on zerodivide.cx (http://www.zerodivide.cx/converter)

Button (t4327)
SB (t3233)
Hero (t2440)

Preflop: Hero is BB with 5/images/graemlins/club.gif, 9/images/graemlins/club.gif.
1 fold, SB raises allin, Hero...?

Odds from the pot are 1.67:1. Fold leaving yourself with 1800 and posting 300 next hand, allowing 2nd stack to move up to 3800, or call allin with a pile of poop?

pineapple888
12-02-2005, 07:54 PM
With the mini-step structure, looks like an easy fold to me.

12-02-2005, 08:02 PM
Hey Kam, been following your progess over on TPF, how's it going recently?

As for the hand, I'm no Pro but it looks like an easy fold...

mlagoo
12-02-2005, 08:05 PM
drop it like its hot, as the young say.

kamrann
12-02-2005, 08:21 PM
Okay, guess I had a bit of a brainfart here then. I really didn't think it's as cold ct as you guys all seem to think.

Basically, his range is very wide here, especially given the fact he'd been pushing a lot. I figured I was probably about a 40:60 dog, unlikely to be much worse, and if I won I had prety much made top two. So the question was did I have that good a chance of top two if I folded, given I'd be left with half the stack of the next guy, and would have to push one of the following two hands.

Anyway, I decided I didn't want to fall this far behind and called. He flipped 5s9s. /images/graemlins/wink.gif

I guess it was dumb. Calling allin nearly always sucks.

kamrann
12-02-2005, 08:27 PM
Hey Dan. Going slow but steady thanks.