PDA

View Full Version : New tourny guy...please help!!! (long...sorrry)

Bat Cape
07-07-2003, 04:16 PM
I am not new to poker...I have been playing 15 years, but I recently picked up an addiction to NL tournies. I think I am a fairly strong (17 money finishes out of 70) tourny player considering that I only started playing regularly 2 months ago, but I am in a rut, and I find myself often struggling to get into the money (and barely miss it many time...10), and often just make it (although I have 8 final tables). I am playing mostly 5, 10, and 20, with a few 30 and 50 mixed in. I've also taken some incredible beats...but then I wonder if I played the hand incorrectly. Like today...I am 8/33 in the LB with 4.5k and AA...4 callers...I make it 2400 (8x)...the BB raises me all in..so I am smiling, everyone else folds...he turned over AQ and flopped a straight. I think I did the right think (i.e. raised the right amount), but maybe I should have gone all in. What do you guys think? The other thing is I am not sure if I am steal raising enough. For instance...say you are on the button or 1/2 off...and your 20th/40...again, close to the money at that point...should you pretty much raise most of the time, and if so...how much? I often find that when I try to SR raise I get called and or reaised. I realize the stacks of the blinds need to be considered, which I do (e.g. laying off SR with big stacks). Here is anther play I questioned. I am about 12/22 in the LB with AK, a guy in late position raised 2x (he has half my stack)...everyone else had folded...what do you do? Again..very close to the money at that point...top 20 got paid. Well, I raised AI (knowing I'd still have half my stack with a loss) and he called, turned over 99 which held up. Do you think it was still correct for me to raise. Ordinarily, I'd say yes, without a doubt, but considering the fact that I was so close to the money, guaranteed if I waited it out, I am not sure I did the right thing. I find myself i