PDA

View Full Version : Update as a beginner...

11-30-2005, 05:09 PM
As some of you know, I am new to profitable poker. I have read a couple books, and read these forums. I currently have over 5000 hands played in about a week. I keep track of my own stats given by Pokerstars (in an excel spreadsheet). I opened PS with $50 last week, and I am currently sitting at $86. I mainly play SNG and have won 1st place 2 times, along with a 3rd thrown in there or so. I also took 2nd place on my first Multi-table SNG of 45 people.

Also, my roommate gave me $20 to play for him on BoDog where I was able to take it from $20 to 45$ in 2 days. Unfortunately, he plays on it too and now we are down to $8. It is his money though and no risk to me. He was going to give me a %, but it looks like that may not happen. Either way, that is more experience for me. It feels good that someone has the confidence in me and thinks I am a good poker player.

The purpose of this post is for the beginners who may feel frustrated and feel like they can't win. I have gotten frustrated, it happens to everyone. All you have to do is to be patient and wait for the strong cards. Don't play the marginal hands and don't try to get lucky. Luck will play its own game. Also, the biggest thing I see that beginners have a problem with is folding. DO NOT BE AFRAID TO FOLD! There are many times I'll fold K10 or A10...and others. Have patience and the money will come to you! GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE. /images/graemlins/club.gif /images/graemlins/spade.gif /images/graemlins/heart.gif /images/graemlins/diamond.gif

SheridanCat
11-30-2005, 05:33 PM
Here's a warning to you and anyone else just starting out and feeling good about their game.

Don't become focused on results. A week or two weeks or a month or a year mean nothing in the long run. Don't be fooled into thinking that you are a winning player because you are running well.