PDA

View Full Version : OT: STTs vs MTTs

45suited
11-30-2005, 05:58 AM
As some of you know, I've been away from STTs for the most part for about 3 months now. I just started playing them sporadically and while still successful (small sample size) I have noticed that the games (22s) do not seem quite as soft as they used to be. I don't have any hard data, but it certainly seems that there are more players hanging around in level 4, for example.

Another thing that I've noticed is a very large amount of players making mini-raises from say level 3 on when they are UTG. Perhaps they've noticed that your typical good player does not call many raises?

Anyway, mostly just to get a break from SNGs, I recently started playing MTTs. (I have long been playing cash games in order to mix things up.)

I guess the purpose of this post is to generate a bit of discussion. I think that the pendulum might be swinging away from STTs as the 'easiest' way to make poker money. I have found that the play in MTTs is generally horrible and that my STT experience has come in very handy. Again, small sample size, but I have cashed in 4 out of 5 MTTs ($11 - $33 buy ins) played, just making my first final table and taking home $430 for a 3rd place finish in a lowly $5 speed tourney.

Has anyone else noticed that a) STT players seem to be getting a bit better and b) that cash games and / or MTTs might be the wave of the future for us?

raptor517
11-30-2005, 06:14 AM
variance. mtts are way more time consuming and swingy. i play a ton of them and have done very well, but time constraints keeps me on sngs. the games arent getting tougher. they are probably about hte same. maybe ppl are a bit tighter, but you can adjust by opening yer game up. mtts are def profitable. play whatever works for you. there will be no 'wave of hte future'. holla

Big Limpin'
11-30-2005, 06:38 AM
yeah /images/graemlins/frown.gif