PDA

View Full Version : Another Comp Build Post

Sean D
11-29-2005, 04:55 AM
Well, I'm gonna buy myself a new computer for Christmas this year, and have tried doing research on everything before I buy. I have never built an entire computer before, just the basics; video card, cd burner, hard drive, etc. But I don't foresee that being too much of a problem. I am on somewhat of a budget, but I already have monitors, and a couple other things I can use from my current computer. I'd like to keep it below $1000. I play games occasionally, not enough to need a $350 card. I mostly just play poker, download music, etc. So here are my current components, I'd like feedback on how it looks. Thanks

Thermaltake Soprano VB1000SWS Silver Chassis: Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

SOLTEK SL-K890Pro-939 Socket 939 VIA K8T890 ATX AMD Motherboard

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Processor

MSI NX6600GT-TD128E Geforce 6600GT 128MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card

ASPIRE ATX-AS520W BLACK ATX 520W Power Supply

Kingston ValueRAM 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory

Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 ST3250823AS 250GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive

LITE-ON Black IDE DVD Burner Model SOHW-1693S Black

Microsoft Windows XP HOME Edition With Service Pack 2

MikeTexas
11-29-2005, 07:43 AM
Looks pretty good. The only thing I would change are perhaps the power supply and the motherboard.

More wattage isnt necessarily better then stability and although the Aspire PSU's tend to give you a lot of wattage for the buck they tend to fail more then some other brands. Look into an Antec, Seasonic or OCZ for PSUs.

I frequent an overclocking forum and Aspire PSU's are generally frowned upon quality wise. They look nice and all, but appearances can be deceiving.