PDA

View Full Version : Simple hand. Is this how I should be thinking? (LC) - $11Stars

11-29-2005, 01:45 AM
Yeah, this is really basic, but I want to make sure my thought process is correct. $11 Stars. I'm new to NL & new to SNG's.

No read on opponent. Neither of us have really played a hand yet.

PokerStars No-Limit Hold'em Tourney, Big Blind is t30 (8 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

MP1 (t1330)
MP2 (t1140)
CO (t1900)
Hero (t1495)
SB (t1915)
BB (t1440)
UTG (t1780)
UTG+1 (t2500)

Preflop: Hero is Button with T/images/graemlins/heart.gif, T/images/graemlins/spade.gif.
<font color="#666666">5 folds</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises to t120</font>, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, BB calls t90.

Flop: (t255) 4/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 9/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, 8/images/graemlins/club.gif <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">BB bets t270</font>, Hero's action?

First, am I supposed to raise this? I can't fold, b/c I may have the best hand. I don't see a reason for calling, since I'll still be lost in the hand. The main reason to raise that I see is to protect what may be the best hand.

If I am supposed to raise, I never have any idea what I'm supposed to bet or raise. I have 1375 chips left. If my opponent has a set, 98 or JJ+, then he's probably taking all my chips.

Is my goal is to cut down his odds for hands that may give him a straight (maybe w/ overcard) and hands such as a pair w/ overcard? The best draw my opponent could have is JT which gives him 11 outs. So giving my opponent 1:3 odds should be my goal. That means I'd raise to approx 1000. However I only have 1375, so I should just go AI right?

So the correct move is AI. Am I right for the right reasons?

Edit: I just realized raising to 1000 would give him 1:2, not 1:3. 1:3 would be raising him to 750 or so. Still I'd push AI.

Freudian
11-29-2005, 01:52 AM