PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else notice a New NL style spreading?

SeanM
07-05-2003, 01:44 PM
The past three or four days I have seen a drastic increase fo players attempting to go up big or bust on the first couple of hands of the tournament. This has hurt my play, due to the fact that by not "gambling" with these other players, myself and others, have often been left where one or two players go up big and everyone else is stuck playing tight. When these players triple their stacks they can easily manipulate the rest of the table by raising every time they come in on. Fromt the second round on it can costyou 10% just to see the flop. It takes alot of skill out of the game because you are forced to play alot more aggressive and play "all-in" more often.

bigfishead
07-05-2003, 02:53 PM
1st. I only started playing "online"5-6 weeks ago. I was told of this action then. I have witnessed it in every single tournament I have entered. Ive entered 27 and cashed 18. I am extremely tight. I notice by the end of the first hand there are at least 4-6 people gone and that many doubled up. Hell I tried it once....course I went all-in pre-flop w/aces. That was after I raised 40x the BB "just to see if I could get the action and got instantly called and then 66 came over the top all-in. Alas 66 won.

But really the point I am making is that you dont need to GAMBOOL. I see'em get up to 20k in chips when I have 3k and they bust out first while I make the money. I got 3rd out of 142 last week. I was down to 1100 in chips twice w/blinds @ 150-300. I even made chip leader for a moment or 2. Dont worry about it. Just play solid.