PDA

View Full Version : 20-40 from the BB - a little feedback (too long)

joey_aces
07-02-2003, 10:19 PM
This is my first post so I'll take a moment to introduce myself. I've been reading 2+2 for at least a year and think you gents are quite adept and a true resource. Cheers to you.

I'm a college student that has been playing for some time now, but only recently have I accumulated a bank that will let me think about a game at this level. Mostly Ive picked up my game through serious study and observation. Plenty about my boring self -

Anyway, a pretty good 20-40 at the Sun.

I am on the BB with A4 hearts. It's folded around to the cutoff who is pretty aggressive, maybe a bit overagressive, and he raises. The small blind calls and I call. (1) *I don't know too much about the SB but I don't recognize him. and he hasn't shown down a hand yet.

The flop comes 3H 8x JH

check- I bet out - and cutoff raises - the sb smooth calls and then I call (2)

turn - 3x

cutoff leads, sb folds (?) and I call.

river - 4x - I check, cutoff bets, I raise and take it down. (3)

1 - I know the cutoff will raise with just about anything that can straight, including one suited picture card and other assorted junk. I also know that he will do it with the nuts too and not flinch. I have to call this, but does anyone raise? I don't know too much about the SB and I think the raise is counterproductive because I commit myself and I hate if an ace comes.

2 - At this point I admit that I am a little distressed by the SB. The flop is pretty ugly and probably didn't make anything too unbreakable at this point. I think that if the small blind folds, I reraise and if called lead out at the turn. I'm drawing to the goods still here. But admittedly, I don't love the way things are goin just yet.