PDA

View Full Version : Rookie Question

Slowplay
07-02-2003, 02:57 PM
I have been only playing for a few months, although I recently jumped from 3-6 to 6-12 and even as a rookie I am still shocked at the terrible skill level of many opponents. How many BB/hour should someone be averaging and how much time should they invest at a certain limit before experimenting with bigger games? Also--and here's my inexperience speaking--I find it incredible infuriating when that manaical moron sucks-out a baby flush or gutshot after calling my raise on the Turn, when I am holding Top/Top or even Trips. I know that it's difficult to blast draws off of the battlefield in a low-limit game, but does anyone have advice? Check-raise the Flop, perhaps? What are the odds of hitting a four-flush vs. a full boat when you flop two pair? Anything will help.

Danke.

Kurn, son of Mogh
07-02-2003, 03:18 PM
A flopped 4-flush is a 1.9 - 1 dog to hit by the river. A flopped 2 pair is a 4.84 - 1 dog to fill by the river.

Allan
07-02-2003, 03:58 PM
Since it takes so long for your true win rate to converge and you lack of experience/knowledge it is hard to say how much a person who is a newbie should be averaging. If you are break even your first couple of months, that is a great start. If you've lost some it isn't the end of the world. With experience and a more thorough understanding of poker theory you should be on your way to a successful approach.