PDA

View Full Version : Guys - I'm Getting Flamed Now, Help!

Festus22
07-02-2003, 11:48 AM
Being a newbie here (hopefully no longer a stranger), I've already read a zillion times about the virtues of raising or folding and the utter disgust for calling stations and weak tight players. Being the latter, I've tried kicking it up a notch always raising and reraising with group 1 & 2 hands preflop, tightening up my starting hand rules, betting out and raising with TPTK on the flop (assuming nothing grotesque is there), betting and raising with Ace high four flushes, etc. In short, I'm trying to do a lot of plays recommended here without becoming a capping station either. I gotta tell ya, I've taken a beating since playing this way. I'm 0-7 in my last 7 sessions, down 66 BB. Looking back over my records, in my weak-tight mode, I had had a 14 session win streak, a 9 and a 7 and was up >600 BB.

What makes tight-aggressive superior? I've ordered TOP so maybe the answer is in there but on the surface, I just don't see it. You will be dealt one winning hand per orbit. It just seems to me in low limit / no-foldem, sitting back and waiting for that winning hand and collecting a mid sized pot (usually none are small) is better than attacking early on a hand that SHOULD be a winner but often is not. Playing this way seems to just increase the risk/reward ratio making for big swings.

I'm thinking about returning to the Dark Side because it seems to work in LL. Guide me, o' wise ones.

P.S. I'll post a few hands where I got broiled. Perhaps my methods are flawed.

P.S.S. I've never seen the position nomenclature before I came here. Starting with the SB clockwise, what do you assign each position (EP, LP, CO, etc.)

ElSapo
07-02-2003, 11:55 AM
I'll let others go into the details on why tight-agressive is better than weak-tight.