PDA

View Full Version : Long Term Comparison: MTTs vs. SNGs

PartySNGer
11-24-2005, 07:52 AM
Let me preface by saying I've been playing poker for about 18 months. I've played SNGs from 5+1s to Step 5s and MTTs from 5+1 to 600+40. From October-December of last year I won 11k, 5k, and 4.5k playing MTTs, but since then I have not cashed for over 1k in an event. Meanwhile, I moved back to $55s when Party started allowing 10 tables and have played 825 SNGs with a 17.53% ROI. I haven't played near as many as I like and I often get sidetracked entering 50+5 up to 150+12 MTTs. Am I wasting my time hoping for another big MTT win? Right now I'm making about $105/hour playing SNGs. Has anyone documented long term MTT results and compared hourly rate over the long term? I guess what I'm trying to figure out is if I should just devote my energies 100% to SNGs or if it's possible for a solid MTT player to average $100/hour playing mid to high level buyin tournies.

HesseJam
11-24-2005, 08:00 AM
I do not think it is possible to determine a long term rate for MTTs, at least for those 500+ player MTTs. You would need a couple of thousand MTTs (10K?) to get anywhere near your true ROI. How long would it take to play those? Wouldn't your's and the average poker player's skill change over that time span?

You are doing pretty good at the 55s. I would be looking into moving up.

I also get sidetracked by MTTs. But I see them as a treat from grinding it out at the STTs. I have no expectation in them. They are just fun. I'm still up on them anyways.

applejuicekid
11-24-2005, 08:06 AM