PDA

View Full Version : I'm new to Harry Potter, somone help

Landon_McFly
11-23-2005, 09:27 PM
I've never read one page out of a Harry Potter book, or even been interested at all. I recently saw the trailer to the newest movie, and it looks worth watching, but I haven't seen the other ones.

I haven't seen any of the other movies, so I could just rent them all, but are the books better? If they are, I'll just download the audiobooks and listen to them while I play the game that I can't mention.

asofel
11-23-2005, 09:28 PM
if we only had an OOTer who might be able to help you out...

Punker
11-23-2005, 09:29 PM
I wouldn't try to listen to them while playing poker at the same time. They might be kids books but they are a bit dense and can't really be "skimmed" if you want to really get it.

The books and the movies are both well done; whichever one you do first, you'll probably think the other one is not as good.

Dynasty
11-23-2005, 09:36 PM
On a scale of 1-10, the books are at least a 9.5. The movies are no better than a 6.5.

I think it's even more telling that that the further along you go in the books/movies, the more the book is better than the movie. The most recent Goblet of Fire film was so lacking that I might just wait for the fifth film to come to cable before seeing it.

I've heard very good things about the Harry Potter audio books. Apparently, the reader is excellent with different voices.

11-23-2005, 09:42 PM
The audiobooks are very good. The reader does a fantastic job. Also, by listening to (or reading) the books, you will be able to appreciate many more of the nuances which make them great, but are hard to pick up on or nonexistent in the movie versions.

Alobar
11-23-2005, 11:29 PM
skip the movies, read the books

OtisTheMarsupial
11-23-2005, 11:55 PM