PDA

View Full Version : Need Help Calculating flopping Pr + Straight Draw

11-23-2005, 06:10 PM
Hi,
Thank you for any help in advance. I found this in the Small Stakes Hold-em forum Re: Never Draw to an Inside Straight.

"Suited Max Stretch 1-Gap (QT-53)
0.84% flop a flush
0.92% flop straight w/o 3 flush board
10.94% flop 4 flush
5.29% flop clean 8 out straight draw
1.85% flop clean 2 pair
1.45% flop trips or full house or 4 of a kind
21.29% = 3.70 to 1 against"

That really opened my eyes up. And I've been playing poker and reading poker books for 20 years. Doh!

I'd like to figure out (so I can factor in) the additional possibility of flopping a pair and a clean straight draw, and a pair and a flush draw (I realize there is a danger of overlap there).

I have only a sketchy idea of how to calculate the additional pair and straight and pair and flush draw, and I guess the pair and straight-flush draw as well. Plus I know I will also be bogged down trying to figure out how not to overlap.

I have read Re: Odds to flop a draw ***AGREEMENT*** http://archiveserver.twoplustwo.com/show...amp;o=&vc=1 (http://archiveserver.twoplustwo.com/showthreaded.php?Cat=&Number=355216&page=&view=&sb =5&o=&vc=1)

And I don't understand "All two flushes are easy C(11,2)*C(39,1)/19600 = 10.94% and agrees with H'eA." I know this is somewhat incorrect as stated in the post but aside from that, how do I handle C(11,2)*C(39,1)? What is the value of C, and how do I handle (resolve/plug in) the numbers with the comma between them? I realize they represent the cards, but the math eludes me. In also not sure what 19,600 represents.

[ 3*(15*34 + 1*27 + 2*6*4) + 4*4*4*2 - 2 ] / C(50,3) = 9.60% would be easy if I knew what to do with C(50,3). At least easy to do the math. I have to study this one to see how it was arrived at (I will follow the links in that post to try to see how it was done). I am also assuming the * is the multiplication sign.