PDA

View Full Version : Turn decision: Overpair vs Unkown preflop aggressor

11-23-2005, 06:01 PM
I'm new to the table and so villain is unknown to me. Is folding here too weak against an unknown? He's showing alot of strength by leading the turn after I cap.

PokerStars 1/2 Hold'em (10 handed) FTR converter on zerodivide.cx (http://www.zerodivide.cx/converter)

Preflop: Hero is Button with T/images/graemlins/heart.gif, T/images/graemlins/club.gif. CO posts a blind of $1.
<font color="#CC3333">UTG raises</font>, <font color="#666666">5 folds</font>, CO (poster) calls, Hero calls, <font color="#666666">2 folds</font>.

Flop: (7.50 SB) 9/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 2/images/graemlins/spade.gif, 2/images/graemlins/diamond.gif <font color="#0000FF">(3 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">UTG bets</font>, CO folds, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises</font>, <font color="#CC3333">UTG 3-bets</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Hero caps</font>, UTG calls.

Turn: (7.75 BB) 7/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">UTG bets</font>, Hero folds.

Edit: I know alot of you are going to say 3 bet preflop. I'm working on my TT aggression but I'm still too passive with it Preflop. So other than 3 bet preflop what's the turn decision?

MrWookie47
11-23-2005, 06:04 PM
Ugh. Three-bet preflop if you like money.

Stealthy
11-23-2005, 06:21 PM
Don't ignore the pre-flop 3 bet. Apart from a +EV move with TT it also makes this hand so much easier to play.

As it is played I would not CAP that flop. Once 3 bet either drop it there and then or call it down.

Arcturus
11-23-2005, 06:25 PM
Yes, re-raise PF depending on the player. If he caps you, then you can be pretty sure he has something good.

I personally would not cap the flop, but if I did, I wouldn't just fold on the turn, especially when that card showed. Your cap on the flop says that you think you still have the best hand. How does the 7 /images/graemlins/heart.gif make it worse?