PDA

View Full Version : speeding after racing games/movies, etc...

whiskeytown
11-23-2005, 07:50 AM
I am now a more dangerous driver then when I was drinking and driving. (no, this isn't about Weed - I've never smoked and driven)

I've spent the last several weeks without booze and playing Forza Motorsports on the 55" HDTV, which is a lot like being in the car with a rear view mirror even. This is THE premier Xbox racing game - exacting in it's realism and it's cars. (that's how I learned TT drove one of the ultimate pimpmobiles - unless you take a Honda CRX and pimp it out itself, it's almost unbeatable.)

Tonight I run to the CD store and immediately I take a right turn WAY too fast. I am having to REALLY watch myself to keep under the speed limit, and I had to make DAMN sure I didn't run a stoplight on the mile run to the CD store.

The only thing I can compare it to is the way idiots drive after watching a movie like Days of Thunder, but being in the driver's seat as well...

I think when I quit this game I'm gonna buy a faster car. /images/graemlins/grin.gif - Maybe I'll get my own Audi TT.

Is this just another self-delusional experience or has anyone else had a period of adjustment after certain forms of Racing...either in games, movies, or live track - I don't know...

RB

chuddo
11-23-2005, 08:02 AM
every time after visiting a go-kart track with friends, if i drive a car immediately after, i drive terribly.

fast go-karts are sweet.

whiskeytown
11-23-2005, 08:06 AM
I have a coworker who is trying to get his little daughter into that - I think he wants her to be the next Danica Patrick. He's gonna buy her one of those racing go-carts, get a trailer, and haul around to those events when she gets older.

Hey - whatever they both like - better then telling her that her only fulfillment in life is to get married, get knocked up, and stay barefoot in the kitchen like some religious kook.

RB

youtalkfunny
11-23-2005, 08:14 AM