PDA

View Full Version : Do Play Money Players Graduate?

Al Mirpuri
07-01-2003, 11:19 AM
Do play money players graduate to the real money games? Do they take that loose aggressive, play any starter cards mentality with them? How long do they last when playing for cash?

Bama Boy
07-01-2003, 02:00 PM
Some definitely do. I played play money just to see how the deals looked, learn the interface, and generally just hang out and ask about the site in general before I started playing real money. Stars has so many freerolls going that its always fun to participate in if you just hang out in the play money.

Legend27
07-01-2003, 02:12 PM
I had litte hold 'em experience before I played online so I did the play money on party before I deposited money. I did the single table tournies on party and played them pretty seriosly and did well (if you don't do play money seriously you can't do well in real money). After a month of that I put $100 and did the $5+1 single table tournies and lost about $50. Then I tried .50/1 and won a quite a bit, got bored there and moved up to the $25 NL tables and did well there too and recently I've moved up to the $50 tables. Since March I've won over $10,000.

Inthacup
07-01-2003, 03:08 PM
There's a guy(Goldenhawk) on pokerroom.com who used to play for play money religiously. He played like 50 hours a week and had the all time record for biggest bankroll in playmoney, which is like 4.5 million, but has since been surpassed by some other play money freak. He got a free $10 on there as incentive to play real money. He's since parlayed that $10 into five figures after tearing up the games from $1 2 up through $25-50.

You can confirm his play money winnings here (http://www.pokerroom.com/games/toplists/?topList=holdemAllTimeTop)

I haven't heard about it very much, but he's the most successful convert from avid play money to avid real money player that I know of.

MS Sunshine
07-01-2003, 04:50 PM