PDA

View Full Version : MTV True Life: I'm a professional gamer

11-22-2005, 01:26 AM
They had another one of these again recently. They had one before where a bunch of kids were working at UPS or FedEx or something while playing video games during night.

This time they had a group of girls that went to France and won. This one chick from Alhambra I believe seemed pretty cute for a gamer.

I don't know, just thought it was interesting. Being a pro gamer and all.

Blarg
11-22-2005, 01:32 AM
Definitely a lot of kids' dream.

Then again, so is being a [cardgame] pro. Which is probably easier.

11-22-2005, 01:41 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Being a pro gamer and all

[/ QUOTE ]

Me too, I play Pole Position and Duck Hunt, you?

11-22-2005, 01:46 AM
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]
I was reading that some kid (His handle is Fatal1ty I think) earned $100K last year playing video games professionally. He expected to rake in about $200K this year with sponsors.
I agree that a game like poker is a far better profession since any and everybody plays poker, and they play it absolutely terribly. I love video games, but poker is a far more attractive way to make money and is far more competetive.

Etric
11-22-2005, 01:48 AM
Anyone else read this as "I'm a professional gambler"?

Blarg
11-22-2005, 01:59 AM
Thresh of course is the poster boy for this. He parlayed his Quake mastery into a successful website, tons of endorsements, and into being a millionaire when he still looked like he probably wasn't even in puberty yet.

I was never a bully and can't stand them, but I joked to a friend once after seeing Thresh at E3 that he was so twerpy even I was half-tempted to punch him. My friend did not find this funny at all or forgive me for this remark.

shant
11-22-2005, 02:21 AM
Entertaining episode. That one dude's girlfriend was cute.

JaBlue
11-22-2005, 02:26 AM
The best halo player hopes to make 60 grand. WOW.

Don't starcraft players in Korea do better?

TheGame1020
11-22-2005, 02:28 AM
[ QUOTE ]