PDA

View Full Version : Playing in my first live MTT tomorrow, suggestions?

11-21-2005, 02:08 AM
Soaring Eagle Thanksgiving tournament. Buy in is $100 + $10 seat fee. I bought in with money won after a good night at the 3/6 table, so essentially it's free.

Being a small stakes limit player, I'm no expert on MTT's but I'm no beginner either. I've placed in the money (top 18) in an Absolute freeroll with 2000 people, and moved on (top 27) in a Hubble's satellite on stars (5000+ people).

I have an above average understanding of tournament strategy, having read HOH1 and through playing experience. One downside to this tourney is the blind structure. Each person gets 4000 chips to start and blinds start at 25/50. They double every 20 minutes. This seems normal for an online tourney, but isn't it extremely fast for a live one?

I'm looking for any tips or suggestions on how to play with the fast paced blinds. Should I even play any differently than normal?

Thanks in advance for the replies.

Lloyd
11-21-2005, 02:37 AM
It's a misconception that online tournaments have faster structures then live tournaments. It all depends. When the blinds start picking up speed you have to be more willing to gamble anytime you have the smallest of edges.

Beyond that, there are two big mistakes that online players make when transitioning live. First, they screw up the betting. Most tournaments have a single chip rule so if the blinds are 50/100 and you toss in a single 500 chip, you just called unless you say raise prior to doing so or announce the amount of the raise. A good rule is to just say how much you plan on betting everytime and you won't get into trouble here.