PDA

View Full Version : Help by newbie really wanted!!

11-20-2005, 09:25 AM
I just read a post of a newbie who "only" won 560 $ with his first 40.000 hands. This was absolutely frustrating for me!! In the moment I am at 30.000 hands and I lost 400 $. The issue is not the loss, the real issue is that things seem to get worse every day!
When I started playing poker in May 2005 I first read "Winning low limt poker" by Lee Jones and "52 Tips ..." by Barry Shulman, before reading TOP by D.Sklansky and "Internet Texas Holdem" by Matthew Hilger. I was playing roughly even for two months. But then it became worse every month. Reading more seemed not to help. In November I am at - 5$/100 BB, which is the worst result ever. I only play 0,5/1 $ in 10 player tables on CoralEuroBet and Carribean Sun.
What I do not understand is that my stats seem to be alright. 23% preflop rate (saw flops all hands), 56% wins at show down went to SD 31%), W$WSF is 33%. My aggression factor is below 0,71 (preflop 0,30), but I am working on it. My question is, what should I do to improve? I really want to understand what the issue is? One seems to be that I often loose expensive hands. The last example was nuts FH to quads (2 sixes in the hole). But is there some other fundamental mistake that I make?? Or how do I find out what is wrong?? Thanks for your support in this issue.

11-20-2005, 09:29 AM
Read SSHE.

Read and post hands on these boards (in appropriate forum).

Review your hands on your own after each session.

Lower your limit, and practice there.

Think about what you're doing as you play and why you are making a particular play -- don't just do it, because it felt right.

Good luck.

DrewOnTilt
11-20-2005, 10:00 AM
[ QUOTE ]
I just read a post of a newbie who "only" won 560 $ with his first 40.000 hands. This was absolutely frustrating for me!! In the moment I am at 30.000 hands and I lost 400 $. The issue is not the loss, the real issue is that things seem to get worse every day!