PDA

View Full Version : Is there enough money in Stud to make it worth learning?

PuppetMaster
06-29-2003, 07:47 AM
I have been strictly a hold'em player. I know hold'em is much more complex, and therefore allows a better player to make more money as opposed to stud poker whihc is fairly straight foward. My question is what kind of money is there to be won in playing stud?

Wombat6
06-29-2003, 10:58 AM
a smart guy like you can win tons in a simple straight forward game like 7 stud hi. And what makes it even better is you dont need to learn or study a damn thing. Just plop you bumm down in any nearby 10, 20 or 30 game and take the money off. It might take a bit of time though due to the high luck factor but, you will get it in the end.

Go For IT Today.

Wombat6

p.s. where you thinking of playing?

Allan
06-29-2003, 12:09 PM
I'm still learning stud and it is taking me a little longer to get a grasp on the game than it did with holdem. Granted I have not yet dedicated a proper amount of study/experience time to the game. I find that the game is no more or less complex than holdem. They are just different games and the complexities of each game take place in different parts of the hand. Holdem, for example, is fairly routine preflop (straightforward), alot of the complexity issues arrive after the flop. In stud, 3rd street can be a comlex situation depending on the info you are projecting with your upcard in relation to those of your opponents upcards and their position. Stud seems to be more straightforward later in the hand.

It is interesting to note that Mason has also continually argued that stud players make a little more than their holdem counterparts.

As for the question as to what kind of money there is to be making at stud....there are bad players in every game played. If you wanna take advantage of this, the best thing to do is learn as much as possible about every game you can. Your game selection will then encompass even more tables to choose from.