PDA

View Full Version : AK unimproved against a LAG

11-19-2005, 10:30 PM
Villan is 50/26/2 (n=50). He is more likely to bet and raise with draws than made hands (he calls AA or better until turn). I'm brand new to 6-max and am not sure how much to loosen up in this bet-fest. I was thinking, check-raise the flop then check-fold would be reasonable.

Party Poker 1/2 Hold'em (6 max, 6 handed) FTR converter on zerodivide.cx (http://www.zerodivide.cx/converter)

Preflop: Hero is CO with K/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, A/images/graemlins/spade.gif.
<font color="#CC3333">UTG raises</font>, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Hero 3-bets</font>, <font color="#666666">3 folds</font>, <font color="#CC3333">UTG caps</font>, Hero calls.

Flop: (9.50 SB) Q/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 3/images/graemlins/club.gif, 3/images/graemlins/spade.gif <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">UTG bets</font>, Hero ?

Nick Royale
11-22-2005, 07:44 AM
I'm uncomfortable in this situation. But I think I'll call/call/call UI most often. He's a lag and you're probably ahead often, but he will get 3-bet a lot by weak pairs and I wouldn't feel comfortable folding anywhere in this hand. Your AK has serious sd value here.

BigEndian
11-22-2005, 09:36 AM
CRing isn't going to give you much information about your hand. Giving this kind of player excess action in general is a bad idea. If you don't have a solid read on his tendancies, then either fold the flop or call down. You pick.

Another thing to look for against LAGs: very often they push their PPs the hardest - even 66. Or they'll push a hand hard but only bet the end when they have something to show (that can beat Ace-high). Try to keep track of these when confronted with a LAG.

Edit: by the by, 50 hands tells us pretty much nothing in a 6-handed game.

- Jim

winky51
11-22-2005, 11:01 AM