PDA

View Full Version : Another 77 hand

jason_t
11-19-2005, 10:08 PM
I'm new to this table. 18/12/2 limps UTG+2. LPP 51/7.2/.6 limps along in MP1. I overlimp in MP2 with 77. I did not feel the table conditions were right for a raise; the three players behind me were loose. The 20/4/1 SB completes and an unknown but seemingly okay BB checks.

Flop: (5 SB) 3/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, 6/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, 4/images/graemlins/club.gif
SB bets, BB folds, UTG+2 raises, MP2 calls, I call, SB calls.

Turn: (6.50 BB) K/images/graemlins/spade.gif
SB checks, UTG+2 bets, MP2 calls, I raise

McGahee
11-19-2005, 10:27 PM
I have the same stats as UTG+2 and on the rare occasion I can beat 7's in this spot I'm not calling a raise because I certainly don't have a K. MP1 has 2 cards, so this is standard I guess.

bobhalford
11-19-2005, 10:52 PM
I like it. I myself would have 3-bet the flop to see how sb and UTG+2 react to it. Then see what they do on the turn. But the way you play it is probably better. You have a gutshot and top pair, and the flop looks like it's ripe with straight and flush draws. The problem is UTG+2 who may have two suited overcards like KTd. But he probably would have raised with any hand he might play with a K in it (18%/12%).I like the raise cause it may fold out the sb and give you a free showdown if none of the draws come through on the river.

sweetjazz
11-19-2005, 10:52 PM
Phil Hellmuth say to raise and reraise preflop with your 7s. /images/graemlins/tongue.gif

But, more seriously, I think I like your line, assuming that you are not putting another bet in UI. I think I like your line because UTG+2 may actually fold 88/99 here, assuming he would not open raise with them in EP. A flop raise might clear SB at best, and even that is not a given. So I think you have to chance it and see a turn, and then decide whether to raise based on the action.