PDA

View Full Version : Game Theory and Holdem

QTip
11-19-2005, 12:30 PM
I'm almost finished rereading TOP. I remember being somewhat fascinated by the concept of game theory before. However, as I'm thinking about it this time through, the idea doesn't seem that usable in holdem as compared to other games where less information is available to players.

I've never used the concept in a game before, so this is just thinking about things that probably aren't even practical at this stage in my poker life. This is most likely because I just play holdem at this point.

At any rate, in holdem, the fact that the final card is revealed to and used by all seems to make this concept almost unusable in holdem. I guess the way to put it is that information is so readily available in holdem that a good player is almost always better off using his judgement.

Does this make sense?

Octopus
11-19-2005, 12:45 PM
No. An example. If I know you will always check behind on the river with overcards UI (and that you will always fire twice with them heads up,) then I can call profitably with stuff like bottom pair on the turn. If you will bet even a small fraction of the time, I can not (all depending on pot size, of course).

It is certainly true that in many cases, the correct mixed strategy is so close to always doing the same thing as to make the concept irrelevant. This is especially true against the worst players. But as you move up and spend your time playing against strong observant players, mixing your play will become required. True you can probably not make the necessary calculations over the table, but as with all things, thinking about them away from the table will give you good intuition in making the right choice. (Edit: if that is what you mean by judgement, then how can anyone disagree? /images/graemlins/smile.gif )

(Do you buy any of this?)

11-19-2005, 01:02 PM
I been thinking a lot about that Game Theory chapter myself, and how to apply the concepts.