PDA

View Full Version : Beginner - Full Ring to 6-Max Journey

11-18-2005, 12:03 AM
So, I've been playing full-ring for a few months and I'm doing OK at micro-limits. I'm a winning player...

6-Max really peaks my interest. I have a small 1 monitor setup and multi-tabling simply is not possible. 2 games is barely managable, which makes 6-max even more appealing. I have the bankroll for 50c/$1 6-max, I'm currently playing 25c/50c full-ring limit... I'm not the best of players, but I'm learning and I want to continue learning.

Anyways, I'm wondering what people's thoughts are about jumping into 6-max so early in poker career... How can I transition smoothly??

RustyCJ
11-18-2005, 12:13 AM
I'm a little bit in the same boat as you, here are a few links for you

check (http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/showflat.php?Cat=0&Board=headsup&Number=3439494&PH PSESSID=&fpart=1#Post3439494) all (http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/showflat.php?Cat=0&Board=headsup&Number=1897985&PH PSESSID=&fpart=1#Post1897985) these (http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/showflat.php?Cat=0&Board=headsup&Number=3916566&PH PSESSID=&fpart=1#Post3916566) out (http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/showflat.php?Cat=0&Board=micro&Number=3949418&PHPS ESSID=&fpart=1#Post3949418)

benkath1
11-18-2005, 12:20 AM
Rusty beat me to the link punch.

What I noticed my biggest mistake when moving to 6 max was I was playing waaaay to loose and waaaay too aggressive. They say you play like a full ring table, but the first three seats have folded. So you are playing late position hands, which is nice. But you can't get too carried away.

I would advise you to start tight, and work your way into a new confidence with short handed play. You will see a lot more hands, so you will get a lot more reads on other players, which are priceless.